Congress finalises 42 names for Lok Sabha polls

March 17th, 2009 - 6:19 pm ICT by ANI  

Hyderabad, Mar 17 (ANI): The Congress Central Election Committee has finalised the names of candidates for all 42 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh, which include Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddys son Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy, who will contest from the Kadapa constituency.

Jaganmohans uncle and Y. S. R. Reddys younger brother Y. S. Vivekananda Reddy currently represent the Kadapa constituency.

A formal announcement of the candidates is likely in two days.

The Congress has decided to retain a majority of the sitting MPs and rejected Rajya Sabha members T. Subbirami Reddy and V. Hanumantha Raos demand for Lok Sabha tickets.

All India Congress Committee Secretary Madhu Yaskhi Goud will again contest from the Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat.

The party has also decided to field sitting MPs from newly-created constituencies.

Senior party leader S. Jaipal Reddy will contest from the Chevella constituency in Greater Hyderabad.

Daggubati Purandeswari, the daughter of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder N.T. Rama Rao, will try her luck from the Visakhapatnam constituency.

Sources said Union Ministers Renuka Chowdhary and M. M. Pallam Raju have been re-nominated from Khammam and Kakinada respectively.

L. Rajagopal will contest from the Vijayawada seat, while Anjan Kumar Yadav has been nominated from Secunderabad constituency.

Congress had won 29 seats in 2004 elections.

The party will announce candidates for Assembly Elections after March 23. The state is going for simultaneous polls to the State Assembly and the Lok Sabha April 16 and 23. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |