Chhattisgarh polls tomorrow

November 19th, 2008 - 6:24 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party

Raipur, Nov 19 (ANI): Elections for 51 seats in the 90-member House, in eight districts of Chhattisgarh will be held tomorrow during the second and final phase of Assembly polls in the state.
Political future of 687 candidates including 50 women will be sealed in the EVMs tomorrow with 88,14,228 voters expected to exercise their franchise.
The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are contesting on all 51 seats while the Congress has candidates on 48 seats, leaving three seats to its ally Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).
Besides former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi and his wife Renu Jogi, prominent leaders who are in the fray include BJP State President Vishnudeo Sai, Deputy Speaker Badridhar Diwan, Home Minister Ramvichar Netam, Health Minister Amar Agrawal, Dilipsingh Judeo’’s son Yudhvir Singh Judeo and former Home Mminister Nand Kumar Patel.
There are 12,073 polling stations across the eight districts including the Raipur, Bilaspur, Korba, Raigarh, Sarguja, Koria, Jashpur and Janjgir and Champa, where elections will be held amid tight security.
As many as 2608 booths have been classified as sensitive and 355 booths as hypersensitive.
Voting for 39 Assembly seats was held in the first phase on November 14. The first phase of polls in Chhattisgarh, which registered 55 per cent turnout, was marred by disruptions and Naxal violence. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |