Chanderpaul, Jayawardena, Steyn all vying for bumper night at LG ICC Awards 2008

September 8th, 2008 - 4:08 pm ICT by ANI  

Dubai, Sept.8 (ANI): Three players Shivnarine Chanderpaul of the West Indies, Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardena and South Africas Dale Steyn could enjoy a bumper night in Dubai on Wednesday.
Each is nominated in both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year categories in the LG ICC Awards 2008, the fifth staging of the event which was established in 2004.
The other nominee for the Cricketer of the Year prize is South Africa captain Graeme Smith while his team-mate Jacques Kallis is a further nominee in the Test category.
None of the four players shortlisted for the Cricketer of the Year Award has previously lifted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy so there is certain to be a new name to join the roll-call of winners.
Players who have secured the games top individual honour in the past are Rahul Dravid of India (2004), Englands Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis of South Africa (joint winners in 2005) and Australia captain Ricky Ponting (back-to-back winner in 2006 and 2007).
Indias one-day and Twenty20 International (T20I) captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is another player with plenty to look forward to on Wednesday.
Dhoni is also nominated for two prizes the ODI Player of the Year and the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year, the latter for his captaincy in leading India to the inaugural title in South Africa last September.
The T20I award is new this year and recognises the newest form of the game at international level.
Dhoni leads his countrys charge in this years shortlists as he is one of four India players in with a chance of taking home a prize from crickets night of nights.
Also nominated are Sachin Tendulkar (ODI Player of the Year), fast bowler Ishant Sharma (Emerging Player of the Year) and Yuvraj Singh (T20I Performance of the Year, to mark his six sixes against England in Durban last September).
Ishant faces tough competition in the Emerging Player category with Sri Lanka mystery spinner Ajantha Mendis, England all-rounder Stuart Broad and Morne Morkel, the South Africa fast bowler, also vying for the trophy.
In the T20I Performance of the Year, Dhoni and Yuvraj are up against Chris Gayle of the West Indies and Australias Brett Lee.
Gayles 117 from 57 balls in the opening match of the ICC WorldTwenty20 was the first hundred in the international form of Twenty20 while Lee captured a hat-trick against Bangladesh in Cape Town, another first for T20Is.
Lee is one of three Australians nominated this year along with Nathan Bracken in the ODI Player category and Lisa Sthalekar, who is shortlisted for the Womens Cricketer of the Year for the second year in a row.
Also nominated for the womens prize are Claire Taylor of England (another shortlisted for the second successive year), New Zealands Nicola Browne and England captain Charlotte Edwards.
Thomas Odoyo of Kenya is aiming for back-to-back success in the Associate Player of the Year category, but faces opposition from team-mate Alex Obanda, Ryan ten Doeschate of the Netherlands and Niall OBrien of Ireland.
And Simon Taufel has a chance of an unprecedented five successive Umpire of the Year awards after being nominated alongside Mark Benson, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis and Rudi Koertzen.
V Ramchandran, director of marketing at LG Electronics India Ltd said: The LG ICC Awards are a celebration and acknowledgement of the best cricketing performances the world has seen over the past 12 months or so. The LG brand also stands for the highest level of performance and therefore LG is very proud to be involved in celebrating such a prestigious occasion. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |