Campaigning for third phase of Lok Sabha polls ends today

April 28th, 2009 - 1:28 pm ICT by ANI  

Sonia Gandhi New Delhi, April 28 (ANI): Campaigning in 107 constituencies that will go to polling in the third phase of elections on April 30 will come to an end this evening.

A total of 1,567 candidates would contest in nine states and two Union Territories in the third phase.

Polling for 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat will be completed in one-go.Besides Gujarat, polling will be held in 16 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 15 in Uttar Pradesh, 14 in West Bengal, 11 each in Bihar and Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra and one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

The prominent candidates in the fray in the third phase include - H D Deve Gowda, JD-U chief Sharad Yadav, former Karnataka chief minister S Bangarappa and union ministers Sriprakash Jaiswal and Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi’s parliamentary constituency Rae Bareilly and Bharatiya Janata Party leader L K Advani’s Gandhinagar would also vote in this phase.

At the end of the third phase, polling would be completed to 372 seats of the 545-member Lok Sabha.

However, polling will be held for 543 seats as two members are separately nominated from the Anglo-Indian community. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |