Cabinet decides to revoke President’s rule in Karnataka

November 14th, 2007 - 10:17 am ICT by admin  
The President’s rule was imposed in the State on October 9 after BJP withdrew support from its coalition with the JD (S) due to differences over transfer of Chief Ministership as per the power-sharing agreement.

Three weeks after a bitter public spat, both parties came together deciding to form the next coalition in the State under B S Yediyurappa’s leadership.

On Monday night, the BJP-JD(S) alliance paraded 125 MLAs before President Pratibha Patil, who were led by Yeddiyurappa.

Forty-five JD (S) and 80 BJP MLAs met Patil to demonstrate their right to be called to form a coalition government in Karnataka.

Chief Ministerial candidate Yeddyurappa and former Chief Minister and JD (S) leader H D Kumaraswamy together conveyed to the President that the combine has majority in the State Assembly.

Senior BJP leaders Venkaiah Naidu and Yashwant Sinha accompanied the group.

Four JDS MLAs — H D Revanna, Merajuddin Patel, B C Patil and Putte Gowda — stayed away citing personal reasons.

On October 29, both the BJP and the JD (S) paraded 129 MLAs in front of Karnataka Governor Rameshwar Thakur.

Earlier, Karnataka Governor Rameshwar Thakur had submitted his report on the political situation in the State to the Union Home Ministry. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |