Buddhist pilgrims of five ASEAN nations to get visa on arrival

December 12th, 2010 - 5:18 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Dec.12 (ANI): The government has decided to extend visa on arrival facility to Buddhist pilgrims coming from five more ASEAN countries — Cambodia, Philippines, Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar.

The scheme would be operational from January 1,2011,” the Ministry of Tourism has said.

The single-entry visa, to be issued at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports, will ne valid for a month.

“The decision was taken after due discussion with the ministries of External Affairs and Home. A formal announcement in this regard will be made soon,” an official said.

It is expected that this facility will attract more Buddhist pilgrims.

Earlier, Singapore, New Zealand, Japan, Finland and Luxembourg were extended the visa on arrival facility.

The International Finance Corporation and the Ministry of Tourism have inked an agreement under which the IFC has been given the responsibility of developing the Buddhist circuit in India. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |