BSP to contest all Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu

March 8th, 2009 - 5:07 pm ICT by ANI  

Bahujan Samaj Party

Chennai, Mar 8 (ANI): Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) General Secretary and the partys coordinator for Kerala and Tamil Nadu Suresh Mane on Sunday said the party would field candidates in all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu.

Our party will contest all 40 seats, including the one in Puducherry. This is to show the political strength of BSP in Tamil Nadu, Mane said.

He said the party had already selected 12 candidates who would file their nominations for the polls, while the names of the other candidates would be announced in a phased manner later on.

BSP supremo and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati will visit the state when the nominations are to be filed.

BSP State Secretary P. Sivagami said the party could gain a strong foothold in the state by working for the Backward Classes.

There is no question of an alliance with other parties. We are going alone in the elections, said, Sivagami, a BSP candidate from Kanyakumari district.

Parliamentary elections will be held in April-May. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |