BJP to contest 26 seats, Shiv Sena 22 in Maharashtra

March 13th, 2009 - 6:56 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party

Mumbai, Mar 13 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday said it has finalized seat sharing with the Shiv Sena in Maharashtra for the general elections.

Addressing media persons here, senior BJP leader Gopinath Munde said both parties have reached an understanding on seat-sharing arrangements.

The BJP will contest on 26 seats while the Shiv Sena will try its luck on 22 seats in Maharashtra , he added.

Munde said the BJP agreed to give the three seats of Kalyan, Yavatmal and South Mumbai to the Shiv Sena.

The BJP leader said he would also like to contest from the Bheed constituency if the party agrees.

Party sources said that a formal announcement on seat-sharing between the two parties is likely to be made this evening in presence of Sena Executive President Uddhav Thackeray and state BJP President Nitin Gadkari.

Earlier, there was talk of differences between the BJP and Shiv Sena over seat-sharing in Maharashtra after the latter was reportedly discussing alternative arrangements with Sharad Pawars NCP. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |