BJP releases names of 14 candidates for Karnataka polls

April 16th, 2008 - 8:04 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Apr 16 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday released a list of 14 candidates who would contest the forthcoming Assembly polls in Karnataka.

The candidates who would contest the election on the BJP tickets are: Abay Patil, Nagesh K. Desai, M.K. Pattana Shetty, Mallana Gowda Patil, Basana Gowda Daddal, S. Thippeswamy, S.D. Rajesh, Yashwanth Rao Jadav, Haratal Halappa, Ravi Narayan Reddy, Hemachandra Sagar, Nagaraj, Pooja Santhosh, D. Somanna.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has issued a notification for the first phase of the three-phased Assembly elections.

Eighty nine Assembly constituencies spread over 11 districts of Tumkur, Chikkaballapur, Kolar, Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Ramanagar, Mandya, Hassan, Kodagu, Mysore and Chamarajnagar will go to polls on May 10.

Nomination papers can be submitted till April 23 and will be scrutinized on April 26.

The notification for the second phase of polls, fixed for May 16, and for the third phase scheduled to be held on May 22, will be issued on April 16 and April 26 respectively.

Sixty-six Assembly constituencies in 10 districts and 69 segments covering eight districts will face the ballot in the second and third phases respectively.

The votes of all 224 constituencies would be counted on May 25. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |