BJP releases first list of contenders for Lok Sabha Election 2009

June 26th, 2008 - 7:31 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi , June 26 (ANI): The Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) met here today under the Presidentship of Rajnath Singh and finalised candidates for the Lok Sabha Elections 2009 for six parliamentary constituencies of different States.

L.K. Advani would contest from Gandhinagar in Gujarat .

In Punjab, Navjot Singh Siddhu would contest from Amritsar , and Vinod Khanna from Gurdaspur.

Sripad Naik has been assigned North Goa (Panji) and Lieutenant General T.P.S. Rawat would contest from Garhwal (Pauri) in Uttarakhand.

Anurag Thakur would contest from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh.

L.K. Advani, leader of the opposition in the Lok Sabha and some other members of the committee were also present at the meeting. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |