BJP, JD (S) to parade its MLAs before Karnataka Governor

November 14th, 2007 - 3:00 am ICT by admin  
Forty MLAs of the JD (S), who were sent packing to a resort in the outskirts of the city fearing a split, will arrive in the city this afternoon and is scheduled to head straight to the Raj Bhavan for the ‘parade’.

Leaders of both political parties have already submitted letters of support to the Governor in favour of former Deputy Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa to head the next coalition in the State.

The BJP leaders had also urged the Governor to request President Pratibha Patil to discontinue the President’s rule in the State, after JD (S) leader H D Kumaraswamy made a turnabout and decided to support the BJP within a month after both parties parted away from each other.

On Sunday, another dramatic moment came in the fluid political situation in the State, when former Deputy Chief Minister M P Prakash turned against his party’s decision to back the BJP.

Prakash, who revolted against the party supremo H D Deve Gowda, said that the support letter submitted by the JD (S) leadership to the Governor in support of the formation of the BJP-led government is “invalid and illegal”.

He alleged that the JD (S) legislative party meeting was not held before former Kumaraswamy submitted the support letter to the Governor.

A powerful Lingayat leader, Prakash had played the role of his party’s points-man for talks with the Congress in recent weeks, and is reportedly miffed over by the sudden decision taken by Kumaraswamy to realign with the BJP after a bitter public fallout with the saffron party.

He claims that he has the support of 31 JD (S) MLAs. he sudden turmoil in the JD (S) had led Kumaraswamy to send his 40 legislators to a resort to prevent them from being ‘poached’ by the Congress.

In the present State Assembly, which has been kept under suspended animation, the BJP has highest number of legislators with 79 MLAs, followed by the Congress with 65 MLAs, which excludes the eight other members led by former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who broke away from the JD (S) to join the Congress.

Kumaraswamy led JD (S) has officially 57 members in the legislature, but its strength is down to 48 after Siddaramaiah’s defection.

The smaller parties and independents only add to 17 in the 224-member Assembly.

The Congress, which has second largest number of MLAs after the BJP, is closely watching the evolving situation.

Kumaraswamy had blamed the Congress for engineering a split in his party that led him to join hands with the BJP.

The coalition government led by Kumaraswamy fell last month after the BJP withdrew support, accusing the JD (S) of going back on its word to hand over reigns of power as part of a deal. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |