BJP all set to form government in Karnataka

May 26th, 2008 - 10:12 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, May 26 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party is all set to form the new government in Karnataka securing the magic number of 113 required to get a simple majority with the support of three Independents.

BJP claimed that apart from its rebel, Shivaraj Thangadai, who won from Kankagiri contesting as an Independent after the party denied ticket, two Congress rebels — Venkataramanappa (Pavagada) and D Sudhakar (Hiriyur) — have agreed to extend support.

The BJP bagged 110 of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly with the Congress following with 80 and the JD (S) dropping to 28 and six seats going to Independents and smaller groups.

At the first meeting of the newly-elected legislature party here, BJP Chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa was formally elected legislature party leader paving the way for him to stake claim to form the government. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |