BJD gives list of 76 MLAs

March 8th, 2009 - 9:43 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party

Bhubaneswar, Mar 8 (ANI): Biju Janata Dal chief and Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday claimed support of 76 MLAs.

Orissa Governor M. C. Bhandare has asked Patnaik to seek a vote of confidence in a special assembly session on March 11.

There will be a vote of confidence in the state assembly on March 11 during a special session, Patnaik told reporters here.

According to the party sources, 59 BJD MLA accompanied the Chief Minister to the Rajbhavan.

Four MLAs, one each from the CPIM, CPI and two of the NCP, four from JMM, seven Independents also accompanied the chief minister.

On Saturday night, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders met Orissa Governor M. C. Bhandare to intimate him its decision to pull out from the government.

The party also demanded Presidents rule in the state.

BJP leader Biswa Bhusan Harichandan said that the Governor had assured the BJP delegation that he would take appropriate steps at the right time.

The BJP leader claimed that the people of Orissa have voted for the alliance, not for Naveen Patnaik or the Biju Janata Dal.

Harichandan also said that Patnaik has betrayed the people of Orissa by breaking the alliance. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |