Bihar polls: Notification for fourth phase issued

October 7th, 2010 - 1:26 pm ICT by ANI  

Patna, Oct 7 (ANI): The notification for the fourth phase of the six-phased State Assembly elections in Bihar was issued here today.Forty-two out of 243 Assembly constituencies will go to polls in this phase on November 1.

Of the 42 constituencies, polling will be held between 7 am and 3 pm in constituencies of Alauli (SC), Suryagarha, Tarapur, Jamalpur, Katoria(ST), Belhar, Sikandara (SC), Jamui, Jhajha and Chakai while voting will take place between 7 am and 5 pm in the rest of the assembly segments.

The last day for the filing of nominations for the fourth phase is October 14 and scrutiny will be over by October 15.

Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till October 18.

The six-phase poll for 243 seats begins from October 21 and concludes on November 20

The first phase of elections will take place on October 21 for 47 state assembly seats, the second phase on October 24, the third phase on October 28 for 48 seats, the fourth on November1 for 42 seats, the fifth phase on November 9 for 25 seats and the sixth and last phase on November 20 for 26 seats.

Counting of votes will take place on November 24.

Bihar has over 5.5 crore voters, who will exercise their franchise through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |