Azad, Soz take oath as Rajya Sabha members

February 16th, 2009 - 8:02 pm ICT by ANI  

Manmohan Singh

New Delhi, Feb 16 (ANI): Senior Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Saifuddin Soz took oath on Monday as members of the Rajya Sabha.
While Azad, a former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister took his oath in English, Union Minister for Water Resources Soz took his in Kashmiri.
Both leaders shook hands with other members of the House after the ceremony.
Ghulam Nabi Azad was the Parliamentary Affairs Minister of India in the government of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh until October 27, 2005, before his appointment as Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir.
Soz served as Minister of Environment and Forests in the 1990s and has been a long-time Member of Parliament. In January 2006, he was nominated to the Congress Working Committee. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |