Armed forces’ chiefs to be exempt from security checks at airports

December 6th, 2007 - 7:48 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Dec 6 (ANI): The chiefs of the armed forces-the Indian Army, the Indian Air Force and the Indian Navy– have been included in the list of dignitaries who are exempt from pre-embarkation security checks at airports.
Announcing this here today, Civil Aviation Minister Praful Patel said, “I think it is appropriate to give them (services chiefs) exemption who defend our country’s borders.”
The Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission, holders of Bharat Ratna, the Chief Election Commissioner, the Comptroller and Auditor General of India and the Attorney General of India have also been included in the list.
The Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) has a list of VVIPs/VIPs who are exempt from pre-embarkation security checks at all civil airports in the country.
They include the President, the Vice President, the Prime Minister, former Presidents, former Vice Presidents, Speaker of the Lok Sabha, Chief Justice of India, Judges of Supreme Court, Leaders of Opposition in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Union Minister of Cabinet rank, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, all Governors of States, Chief Ministers of States, Ministers of State of the Union Council of Ministers, Chief Justices of the High Courts, Lt. Governors of Union Territories, Chief Ministers of UTs, Deputy Chief Ministers of State, Deputy Chief Ministers of UTs, Ambassadors of foreign countries, Charge-D’ Affairs and High Commissioners and their spouses and the Cabinet Secretary. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |