AIADMK releases candidates list for LS elections

April 9th, 2009 - 2:04 pm ICT by ANI  

Chennai, Apr 9 (ANI): The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) on Thursday released the list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections.

Former Union Minister M Thambidurai will contest from Karur, while former state Ministers Semmalai is being field from Salem, M C Sampath from Cuddalore, Raja Kannappan from Shivaganga and V Satyamurthy from Ramanathapuram.

Two women candidates are former Vice-Chancellor of Manonmaniam University Sinthyapandiyan from Tuticorin.

The AIADMK will contest 23 seats from Tamil Nadu, leaving six to allies Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), four to Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) and three each to CPI and Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI (M)).

Jayalalithaa will launch poll campaign for her party on April 16.

Tamil Nadu will go to polls on May 13. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |