ABVP sweeps DUSU elections

September 4th, 2010 - 5:12 pm ICT by ANI  

Bharatiya Janata Party New Delhi, Sep 4 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) student’s wing, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), swept Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections on Saturday, giving a jolt to Congress party backed National Students Union of India (NSUI), wining three out of the four top posts, including that of the President.

ABVP candidate Jitender Choudhary won the post of president, while ABVP candidate Priya Dabas won the post of vice president.

Neetu Dabas of ABVP was elected the new Secretary, while Akshay Kumar was the only NSUI candidate winning the election for the post of Joint Secretary.

Jitender Choudhary defeated NSUI candidate Harish Choudhary, a student of SGBT Khalsa College by a margin of 1,943 votes. Jitender polled the maximum number of 9,259 votes in the election.

All India Student Federation (AISF)’s candidate Aparajitha, daughter of Communist Party of India (CPI) leader D Raja, bagged 2,999 votes.

Priya Dabas, who polled 8,679 votes, came ahead of NSUI’s A A Vardhan by 1,518 votes in vice president polls.

Neetu Dabas won by the highest margin of 4,495 votes in the polls defeating Deepika Derhwal of NSUI for Secretary’s post.

NSUI candidate Akshay Kumar managed to win a tight poll with a margin of 581 votes. Kumar polled 6,831 votes.

A dismal 35 per cent of the students of the Delhi University turned out to vote to elect their new union on Friday, following an election campaign that was watered down and without much fervour.The voting that was held across the campus under tight security concluded at 7 p.m. on Friday with the electorate from 51 Delhi University colleges sealing the fate of 41 candidates for the four DUSU panel posts. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |