530 election observers to supervise Assembly polls in five states

November 3rd, 2008 - 9:34 pm ICT by ANI  

New Delhi, Nov 3 (ANI): The Election Commission has appointed 530 officers as Observers to supervise the election process of Legislative assemblies of Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Rajasthan.

The Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami and Election Commissioners Navin B Chawla and Dr. S.Y. Quarishi briefed these officers in New Delhi on Monday to ensure quick redressal of complaints that are received from political parties and candidates from these states.

In a statement issued by the Election Commission, it said that observers will reach the allotted constituencies on the last date of withdrawal of candidature and stay continuously in the constituencies assigned to them till the end of poll day. They will supervise the process of election at all stages.

All Observers have been advised to look into the deployment plan of Central Police Forces in the constituency. The Observers will also monitor strictly the enforcement of Model Code of Conduct. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |