20 PML-Q MPs to vote for Musharrafs impeachment

August 11th, 2008 - 12:05 pm ICT by ANI  

Pervez Musharraf

Islamabad, Aug 11 (ANI): In what could be described as a major jolt to Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf, as many as 20 Members of National Assembly (MNAs) belonging to the erstwhile ruling party the PML-Q have committed their support for the Impeachment Motion against Musharraf to be tabled in Pakistans parliament today.

This was announced here last evening by the PML-Q MNA from Layyah Sardar Bahadar Ahmed Khan Seehar.

Seehar asked the President to resign before the start of the impeachment proceedings as the country could not afford confrontation among institutions. Urging the coalition government to provide a safe exit to the President, he said the drastic act should be avoided as it could increase polarisation in the country, reported The News.

The MNA further claimed that five to six Senators were in favour of the impeachment.

He said the resignation of the President, before Impeachment, would strengthen the democratic system. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |