15th Lok Sabha’s first session begins on Monday

June 1st, 2009 - 12:00 pm ICT by ANI  

Manmohan Singh New Delhi, June 1 (ANI): The first session of 15th Lok Sabha starts Monday morning with the first two days of Parliament kept for newly elected members to take oath followed by election of the Speaker on June 3.

The first person to be administered oath will be Leader of the House Pranab Mukherjee followed by Leader of Opposition L K Advani.

The first session will also witness the Congress-led United Progress Alliance Government unveiling its plan of action.

Lok Sabha will have seven sittings while the Rajya Sabha would commence its session from June 4.

The President Pratibha Devisingh Patil would address the joint parliamentary session of both Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha on June 4, which would chart out the road map of the second term of the Manmohan Singh Government.

Seniormost Lok Sabha member Manikrao Gavit of Congress has been appointed Protem Speaker by President Pratibha Devisingh Patil.

Gavit (75) will perform the duties of the Speaker till the election of a new Speaker on June 3.

The President has also appointed a panel four senior members Basudeb Acharia (CPI-M), Arjun Charan Sethi (BJD), Biren Singh Engti (Congress) and Sumitra Mahajan (BJP) to administer oath to the newly elected members.

Parliament will convene towards end of June for a longer session when the new government will present the full budget for 2009-10.

The UPA has come to power with a renewed mandate as Congress alone secured 206 seats. The party had 145 seats in the previous lower House.

With pre-poll allies, the UPA was almost near the majority mark of 272 and back by post-poll partners, the coalition strength has gone up to 322.

After the President’s address, the House would discuss and pass the motion of thanks to the President.

The session would conclude on June 9. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in National |