Shibu Soren Government wins trust vote in Jharkhand

August 29th, 2008 - 8:53 pm ICT by ANI  

Ranchi, Aug 29 (ANI): Jharkhand Chief Minister Shibu Soren today proved majority on the floor of the State Assembly, receiving 42 votes in favour and 34 against him.

State Governor Syed Sibtey Razi administered the oath of office and secrecy to Soren and 11 of his cabinet colleagues on Wednesday.

The 11 ministers are Stephen Marandi (Independent), Sudhir Mahto (JMM), Kamlesh Kumar Singh (Nationalist Congress Party-NCP), Anosh Ekka (Ind.), Hari Narayan Rai (Ind.), Joba Majhi (Ind.), Nalin Soren (JMM), Bandhu Tirkey (Ind.), Aparna Sengupta (Forward Bloc), Dulal Bhuiya (JMM), Bhanu Pratap Sahi (Ind).

Earlier, on August 25 Soren had staked the claim to form the government after submitting a list of 42-MLAs before the State Governor.

He individually met all the Independent MLAs who were supporting the predecessor Madhu Koda, an Independent. Finally, the Independents gave support to Soren in exchange of their 12-point demand, which was accepted by Soren.

Last week, Soren had withdrawn support from the Koda-led UPA government in Jharkhand, thereby reducing his government to a minority.

In 2005, after being sworn in as the state CM, Soren had to resign after failing to prove majority in the Assembly. His stint lasted only nine days. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Health Science |