President confers B.C. Roy Award on eminent doctors

July 2nd, 2008 - 12:23 am ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Pratibha Patil

New Delhi, July 1 (IANS) On Doctor’s Day Tuesday, President Pratibha Patil conferred the prestigious Dr. B.C. Roy National Award on over 30 renowned doctors. Top doctors from across the country, including Ajay Kumar, S.N. Mishra and Muzaffar Ahmed, were among nine other people who received the award under ‘Socio-Medical Relief’ category for the year 2007.

In the ‘Eminent Medical Teacher’ category, Anup Mishra, Mani Menon, S.S. Sangwan received the award with twelve others.

Under the category of recognition of the best talents in encouraging the development of specialties in different branches in medicine, 10 doctors, including Amit Banarjee, Lalit Kumar, Sanjay Bagai, were conferred the top award.

The Medical Council of India instituted the Dr. B.C. Roy Award in 1962. He was also the first chief minister of West Bengal.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Health Science |