EC announces schedule for bye-polls to 7 LS and 22 Assembly seats

April 16th, 2008 - 11:03 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Apr 16 (ANI): The Election Commission announced on Wednesday that bye-election to the seven Lok Sabha seats including four in Andhra Pradesh and 22 Assembly seats in seven states would be held next month.

Elections to four Lok Sabha seats Karimnagar, Hanamkonda, Warangal and Adilabad and 18 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh following resignation by Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) members would be held on May 29.

The EC said bye-elections to three other Lok Sabha seats Hamirpur (HP), Thane (Maharashtra) and Tura (Meghalaya) as also four Assembly seats Indri, Gohana and Adampur in Haryana and Amritsar South (Amritsar) would take place on May 22.

The 18 Assembly seats that would go to polls on May 29 are Therlam, Khairatabad, Jadcherla, Vikarabad (SC), Musheerabad, Secunderabad, Siddipet, Dommat, Ramayampet, Yellareddey, Dichpalli, Khanapur (ST), Myadaram (SC), Huzurabad, Kamalapur, Cheriyal, Ghanpur (SC) and Alair (SC).

As per the schedule announced by the EC, notification for Parliamentary and Assembly seats in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya and Punjab would be issued on April 28.

The last date for filing of nomination would be on May 5 and the scrutiny the following day.

The withdrawal of nominations would take place on May 8. The counting of votes in these places would be held on May 25.

For Lok Sabha and Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, the notifications would be issued on May 5.

The last date for filing nominations would be on May 12 and the scrutiny the next day.

Withdrawal of nominations would be on May 15. The counting of votes for seats in the State would be held on 1st June. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Health Science |