Two awards for ‘BA Pass’ at Osian’s film fest

August 5th, 2012 - 11:11 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Aug 5 (IANS) The Ajay Behl-directed “BA Pass” was named best film in the Indian competition category of the 12th Osian Cinefan Film Festival, while actor Shadab Kamal, who played a gigolo in the film, won the best actor award as the 10-day event concluded Sunday.

“BA Pass” also features Shilpa Shukla.

Ajita Suchitra Veera won the award for best director for her film “Ballad of Rustom” while actress Rii took home the best actress award for the movie “Cosmic Sex”.

“Hansa” by Manav Kaul got the audience award and the critiques award.

Speaking at the award ceremony, the chief guest, Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, appreciated the work put in by Osian’s and lauded its chairman Neville Tuli for “being bold enough” in putting together the cine extravaganza despite several hurdles.

She also unveiled the Cinefan award trophy crafted out of the eco-friendly material by eminent artist K. Laxma Goud.

Delivering the vote of thanks, the festival’s director Indu Shrikent said that the festival had “proved to be an exhilarating experience”.

The award ceremony was hosted by actors Ranvir Shorey and Vinay Pathak.

Opening July 27 with Japanese director Keiichi Sato’s “Asura” and closing with Bengali film “Chitrangada” by Rituparno Ghosh, the festival saw screening of over 175 films from 38 countries.

Turkish films took home four awards. “Inside” won the best film award in the Asian and Arab competition category, “Silent” by L Rezan Yesilbas won the best film in the short films category while “The Bus” by Olgu Baran Kubilay got a special mention award in the same category.

Other award-winning films in different categories wre:

Asian and Arab Competition

Best Director: Faouzi Bensaidi for “Death For Sale”
Best Actress: Taraneh Alidousti for “Modest Reception”
Best Actor: Mani Haghighi for “Modest Reception”
Special Jury Prize: “Postcards from the Zoo”
Special Mention: Director Yoshimasa Ishibashi for “Milocrorze”

Indian competition

Special Jury Award: Prashant Bhargava for “Patang”
First Feature Competition: Elmin Alper’s “Beyond the Hill”
Special Mention: “In April Following Year there was a Fire”

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |