Peter Gabriel, Jose Antonio win Polar music prize

May 13th, 2009 - 2:45 pm ICT by ANI  

London, May 13 (ANI): Acclaimed musician Peter Gabriel and Venezuelan composer Jose Antonio have been pronounced the winners of this year’s Polar music prize, Sweden’s biggest music award.

Both the musicians will each receive one million pounds from the Royal Swedish Academy of Music, and will be presented with awards by King Carl XVI Gustaf at a gala ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall.

According to the BBC, the prize committee has applauded Gabriel for his “ground-breaking, outward-looking and boundary-busting artistry”.

The prize committee emphasized that Gabriel had “not only had a significant influence on the development of popular music - he has redefined the very concept.”

Brit rock group Pink Floyd won the Polar music prize last year along with US soprano Renee Fleming.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by Stig Anderson, the manager of Swedish pop group ABBA. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |