Nominees for Bad Sex in Fiction Award shortlisted

November 27th, 2007 - 2:14 pm ICT by admin  

London, November 27 (ANI): The nominees for the annual Bad Sex in Fiction Award, which is given for crude and tasteless sexual depictions in published literature, have been finalised.

Harry Potter actor David Thewlis, Jeanette Winterson, and the late Norman Mailer have reportedly made it to the shortlist.

Thewlis has been nominated for his first novel The Late Hector Kipling, Winterson for The Stone Gods, and Mailer for The Castle in the Forest.

The prize, which is in its 14th year, is awarded by Literary Review magazine so as to discourage authors from writing such accounts.

The deserving candidates are chosen on the basis of the most redundant passages in otherwise excellent novels.

According to the BBC, the other nominees include Richard Milward, Ali Smith, Gary Shteyngart, Christopher Rush and Clare Clark.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on Tuesday.

Last year, Iain Hollingshead became the youngest recipient of the award for his first novel Twenty Something.

Previous winners of the bad sex prize include AA Gill, Sebastian Faulks and Tom Wolfe.

Wolfe was one of the few who declined to receive the award in person. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |