Left parties to vote against UPA Government with BSP

July 13th, 2008 - 9:26 pm ICT by ANI  

Bahujan Samaj Party

New Delhi, July 13 (ANI): After partying ways with the United Progressive Alliance over the civil Indo-US nuclear deal, the Left front has also garnered support of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) to oppose the UPA Governments vote of confidence to be held on July 21-22.
Communist Party of India (Marxist) General Secretary Prakash Karat today called on BSP Chief and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati at her residence.
After their 45-minute meet, both the leaders agreed to co-operate each other while opposing the Government over civil Indo-US nuclear deal issue in the Lok Sabha.
“We wanted the two parties to cooperate in the struggle against the government,” Karat said.
The Left parties have 59 Members of Parliament in the Lok Sabha, the BSP has 17 MPs.
On July 11, Karat had claimed of being in touch with all parties who could take a stand against the deal.
Mayawati has so far refused to divulge her strategy on the trust vote.
But there were reports that she was attempting to persuade several Samajwadi Party and Congress MPs in the Uttar Pradesh to vote against the government.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |