Juries for 10th Osian’s-Cinefan film fest announced

June 25th, 2008 - 6:49 pm ICT by IANS  

Mumbai, June 25 (IANS) Versatile Indonesian actress Christine Hakim has been named to head the jury for the Asian-Arab section of the 10th Osian’s-Cinefan Film Festival to be held in New Delhi July 10-20. There will be four separate juries, comprising 22 members, for the four sections of the festival, besides juries from the Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) and the Federation Internationale de la Presse Cinematographiq (FISRESCI), otherwise known as the International Federation of Film Critics.

The jury members selected are from the different crafts of filmmaking, including directors, actors, screen writers and cinematographers.

Movies from the Asian and Arab world, Indian, First Features and In-Tolerance, which is a new category included this year, are the four sections of the festival.

The In-Tolerance section include movies “that grapple with themes and stories centering on the intolerance of our times and on efforts made to combat or overcome it”.

The Asian-Arab section jury consists, besides Hakim, Chantal Akerman (Belgium), Wu Nien-jen (Taiwan), Kais al Zibaidi (Palestine) and Ketan Mehta (India).

The Indian section jury includes Rada Sesic (Netherlands), Jeffrey Jeturian (Philippines), Sai Paranjpye (India), Abolfazal Jalili (Iran) and Mohammad Bakri (Israel).

The movies in the First Features will be judged by Tony Rayns (Britain), Nagesh Kukunoor (India) and Vimukthi Jayasundara (Sri Lanka).

Saed Ebrahimifar (Iran), Bappaditya Bandopadhyay (India) and Gonul Donmez-Colin (Turkey) are the jury members for the In-Tolerance section.

The NETPAC jury includes Martine Therouanne (France), Ed Lejano (Philippines) and Arun Khopkar (India).

The FIPRESCI jury has three members - Adrienne Mc Kibbins (Australia), Mohammad Gallaoui (Morocco) and Meena Karnik (India).

“This year, as in the previous years, we have a very fine line-up for juries. All of them are outstanding personalities with a keen understanding of the artistic and organizational aspects of cinema,” said Latika Padgaonkar, joint festival director of Osian’s-Cinefan, while announcing the names of the jury members.

Prize money worth Rs.10 million has been announced for the award-winning movies as well as for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |