Hindu college ‘Old Students’ Association’ celebrates its golden jubilee

April 20th, 2008 - 5:10 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, Apr 20 (ANI/Business Wire India): The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of the prestigious Hindu college of organized a golf tournament to commemorate its 50 years at Delhi golf club.
Lieutenant Governor of Delhi Tejender Khanna inaugurated the tournament on April 18 and an award ceremony was held on Saturday. Naveen Jindal Member of Parliament (MP) gave away the prizes to the winners.
The overall net winner was Vikram Bahri with 43 points. Arun Jha was the overall net runner up with 41 points. Sanjiv Talwar with 33 points was the overall gross winner. Apart form these there was a special mention for Lieutenant General V K Nayar, the oldest participant and Suneeta Trivedi, the only lady participant.
“It gives me immense pleasure to be giving these awards away. The Hindu college OSA has been pro-actively contributing to the well being of its alma mater and I congratulate them on the occasion of their Golden Jubilee. I also congratulate all the winners here today,” said Jindal.
Speaking on the occasion, Lalit Bhasin, President of OSA, Hindu college said, “It is a delightful moment for the alumni to come together for such a noble cause. OSA provides us with a platform to interact with alumni across generations, learn and share our rich experiences. It has helped us maintain the tradition of interconnect and bridging through the years.”
The OSA hopes to raise some funds to assist the college in some of its ongoing projects and to create an employment bank for those students of the college who wish to join any employment or service, which is being owned or managed by Hindu college alumni. These alumni have distinguished themselves in the field of business and services and are willing to offer students of the college good job opportunities.
The eminent alumni who participated in the tournament were Hon’ble Justice Y. K. Sabharwal, former Chief Justice of India, Inder Sharma Chairman of select group of Heritage hotels, Raj Bhargava former Home Secretary of India, Venkat Sundaram, Lieutenant General V. K. Nayar, Dr. Naresh Trehan, Narendra Kumar Chairman Delhi Public School society, K. S. Dhingra Chairman Berger Paints, K. C. Mehra deputy Chairman Forbes limited, T. C. Rangachari of Indian Foreign Service, Kunwer Sachdev of Su-Kam, Dr. L. K. Malhotra PHD Chambers of Commerce.
The OSA was formed in the early years of the last century. Over the years OSA has conducted several activities and endeavors for the benefit of the college under the dynamic leadership of Lalit Bhasin, a legal luminary.
In recent years following the Hindu centenary the OSA has really created an example by many innovative efforts that include distinguished alumni awards, annual OSA meets and much more.
Hindu college has contributed to nation building by producing luminaries in various fields. The college has produced academicians like Professor Sarup Singh, noted industrialists like K. K. Birla and Modi, cinema personalities like Manoj Kumar, the famous singer Mukesh, Vishal Bhardwaj, Arjun Rampal, Imtiaz Ali.
Other famous personalities like sports persons Ajay Jadeja, Saba Karim, Gautam Gambhir, Akash Chopra, Murli Karthik and Prakash Bhandari.
The college has produced legal luminaries like former Chief Justice of India Y. K. Sabharwal, B. P. Singh Judge of the Supreme Court of India, Justice Mukul Mudgul, Justice R. Bhat, Justice Sistani, Justice Manmohan, Justice Siddharth Mridul and distinguished academicians like Dr. Kavita Sharma, Zoravar Singh and late Amba Prasad.
Some of the leading lawyers include Late Tara Chand Mathur, Dinesh Mathur, Ranjit Kumar, Lalit Bhasin and parliamentarians like Subramaniam Swamy and journalists like S. K. Dua. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |