Francis Ford Coppola, Eli Wallach & Jean Luc Godard set to receive Governor’s Awards at the Oscars

August 26th, 2010 - 2:57 am ICT by Aishwarya Bhatt  

Los Angeles, Aug 25 (THAINDIAN NEWS) The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced the winners of the prestigious Governor’s Awards on Wednesday.

According to the academy, Directors Jean-Luc Godard and Francis Ford Coppola along with actor, Eli Wallach and Kevin Brownlow, a historian are the proud winners of the award this year. The award will be issued on Nov. 13 this year at a dinner.

According to the announcement, 71-year-old Francis Ford Coppola who also directed great movies like the “Godfather” trilogy and “The Black Stallion” will receive the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial award. Coppola has already received five Oscars in his career.

Jean-Luc Godard is credited with shaping some great directors like Martin Scorsese and Quentin Tarantino. At 79 years, his movie “Breathless” is really a masterpiece and he is billed to receive an honorary Oscar award along with 91 year old Eli Wallach and Kevin Brownlow at the dinner.

According to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is given to a director who consistently produces high quality movies while the Oscar honorary award is given for extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |