”Call of Duty 4” lords over 2008 Golden Joystick awards

November 1st, 2008 - 6:33 pm ICT by ANI  

London, Nov 1 (ANI): First person shooter video game ”Call of Duty 4” was the main highlight at the 2008 Golden Joystick awards, where it scooped ”Ultimate Game of the Year”, ”Online Game of the Year”, and ”PC Game of the Year” awards.
Infinity Ward developed the game, and David Tyler from Activision, which published it, has said that its success is a reflection of the professionalism of the game’’s developers.
The awards, now in their twenty-sixth year, are given in 16 categories, and are voted for by UK gamers.
Other winners included Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock, Grand Theft Auto IV, and Super Smash Bros.
The two most prestigious British awards a video game can win are either a Bafta Video Game Award, or a Golden Joystick.
“We”re really honoured to receive this award. We”d like to thank everyone involved, especially the development team, Infinity Ward,” the BBC quoted David Tyler, marketing director at Activision, as saying.
“The Golden Joysticks” importance has grown year on year and it has helped raise the profile of the games industry as a whole,” he added.
Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock picked up The Sun’’s ”Family Game of the Year” award, while Nintendo’’s Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass bagged Handheld Game of the Year award.
Emerging new talent was also rewarded. Developer Tobias Rowe won the Mobile Game Pitch for his game Finders Keepers, while the new Grandmaster Flash Award - given for the best new web-based flash game - went to Darius Bagdziunas for his Stickman Madness game.
The games, which received the awards, were:
Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock.
Grand Theft Auto IV.
Super Smash Bros.
Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass
Finders Keepers.
Stickman Madness. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |