10th Osian film fest has grand opening

July 12th, 2008 - 1:27 am ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, July 11(IANS) The inaugural ceremony of the 10th Osian’s-Cinefan Film Festival of Asian and Arab Cinema here Friday evening saw prominent members of the film fraternity, including some Bollywood celebrities, walk the red carpet. Indian actor Konkona Sen Sharma entered without creating a flutter followed by Chief Minister Sheila Dixit, who caught all the media frenzy leaving Nandita Das out of the camera frame.

A horde of people queued up outside the main auditorium at Siri Fort to attend the opening ceremony that commenced with a dramatic overture by actor and compere-auctioner of the Osian’s Connoissuers of Art, Rajit Kapur.

An audio-visual clipping tracing the nine years of the Osian’s journey was showcased. Founder-chairman of the Osian’s Connoisseurs of Art Neville Tuli later came up on the stage to retrace the birth and evolution of the gala.

“Osian’s is all about bringing a new sensibility and new value system. It’s not just the money but a lot more things make up Osian’s. It is about doing things without thinking about the consequences. They have lost the ability of giving without thinking of the consequences,” Tuli said.

Aruna Vasudev, founder of film festivals Cinemaya and Cinefan that were taken over by Osian’s half a decade ago, has also been working closely with Tuli. At the ceremony, she also handed over the reigns of the management of the affair to Tuli.

Sheila Dixit was invited on stage to declare the 10th Osian’s-Cinefan Film Festival open by lighting the lamp along with Tuli, Vasudev, Padgaonkar and Shrikent.

Also, eminent director Basu Chatterjee felicitated renowned Indian filmmaker Mrinal Sen with the Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to cinema. The same title was also bestowed upon veteran actor Shammi Kapoor in Mumbai at a two-day premiere of the Osian’s fest held last month.

Versatile writer, poet and journalist of Phillipines Jose ‘Pete’ F. Lacaba was awarded the writer’s award renamed this year as the Aruna Vasudev Lifetime Achievement award.

The eminent jury of all competitive sections at the Osian’s, comprising industry stalwarts like Indonesian actress Christine Hakim, Indian director Ketan Mehta, British filmmaker Tony Rayns, Pakistani actor Mohammad Bakri and many others were welcomed on the stage.

Since the inaugural ceremony was to be followed by the opening film of the festival, “Sparrow” by Hong Kong-based filmmaker Johny To, the director was invited on stage to talk about the film.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Entertainment |