Sourav leads the race for Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year

January 14th, 2008 - 4:31 pm ICT by admin  

Mumbai, Jan 14 (ANI/Business Wire India): Sourav Ganguly, the man who has just completed one of the most stirring comeback in cricketing history, is at the forefront of the race for Indian cricket’s most coveted award - the Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year - 2007.
Sourav Ganguly, who scored 1106 runs from ten Tests in 2007, heads the list of the nominees for the Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year Award, with a tally of 51 points.
The Castrol Awards are based on performances by Indian cricketers in Tests, One-day Internationals and Twenty20 games during a calendar year. In what was an eventful twelve-month period between January - December 2007, India lost a test series in South Africa and was then knocked out of the 2007 World Cup.
Incidentally, Sourav’s comeback match in South Africa in December 2006, coincided with the Castrol Awards function held in South Africa - the first time the awards function was held overseas.
The team bounced back from the World Cup debacle in a remarkable fashion. They had a successful tour of Bangladesh, after which the South Africans were soundly beaten in a one-day series in Ireland.
The Indian team then went on to win a Test series in England for the first time since 1986, and beat the visiting Pakistanis in both the one-day and test series. In the middle of all this was the extraordinary triumph in the inaugural Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa.
Two architects of that triumph figure among the five nominees for the Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year Award 2007.
Yuvraj Singh is ranked fourth with a total of 42 points. Three points ahead of him, in the third place is his Twenty20 and one-day skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
Sachin Tendulkar, who scored a succession of nineties during the year, is ranked second with 50 points. Rahul Dravid is ranked fifth with 37 points.
The winner of the Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year Award will be selected as always through a ’secret ballot’. Every single living cricketer who has represented India in at least one test match or five one-day internationals will ‘vote’ for the winner, from among the five nominees.
The player with the maximum votes will receive the award, which comprises a trophy and a cheque for Rs. 5 lacs, at the Castrol Awards for Cricketing Excellence Ceremony, which will be held later this year.
The Castrol Awards honours the past, present and future of Indian cricket.
The premier award - the Castrol Indian Cricketer of the Year Award, has been won by Rahul Dravid (1998-99, 2001-02, 2002-03, 2005-06) and Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98, 1999-00, 2000-01) in previous years. They shared the award together in 2003-04.
In 2006, the Castrol Awards completed 10 years and co-incidentally, it was also the 75th year of Indian test cricket. Several legends of Indian cricket and past captains through the last 75 years were recognized and felicitated.
Amongst those felicitated was Sourav Ganguly who was honoured as the “Most successful Indian test captain. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |