MPs panel visits atomic sites in Mumbai

July 6th, 2010 - 10:01 pm ICT by IANS  

Mumbai, July 6 (IANS) A team of MPs Tuesday visited the Tarapur Atomic Power Station and Bhabha Atomic Research Centre here to review the facilities, an official said.
The Standing Committee on Science and Technology ministry took stock of nuclear safety, personnel and environment safety, emergency preparedness, and other safety provisions and measures at the two installations.

Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) chairman Srikumar Banerjee, who is also secretary in the atomic energy department, and Nuclear Power Corp of India Ltd chairman and managing director S.K. Jain accompanied the delegation.

The delegation, led by T. Subbarami Reddy, expressed their satisfaction over the various security measures at the two installations.

Later, the delegation left for Chennai where it would visit the Madras Atomic Power Station.

Presently, the NPCIL operates 19 nuclear power reactors with a total installed capacity of 4,560 MW.

Besides, three more nuclear power reactors with a total installed capacity of 2,220 MW are under advanced stages of construction.

In addition, NCPIL has launched four indigenous pressurised heavy water reactors (PHWRs) with a total capacity of 2,800 MW (that is 700 MW each).

NPCIL targets an installed capacity of 20,000 MW by 2020, and tripling it to 60,000 MW by 2032.

This would include a mix of indigenous PHWRs of 700 MW or light water reactions of 1,000 MW and higher capacity based on international collaboration.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |