Metro to construct nine power receiving sub-stations

August 5th, 2012 - 5:02 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Aug 5 (IANS) To augment power supply for Phase III and strengthen four existing sub-stations, Delhi Metro will be constructing nine new power receiving sub-stations (RSS), an official said Sunday.

The nine new substations will come up at Yamuna Vihar, Vinod Nagar depot, INA, Dhaula Kuan, Mukundpur Depot, Kalkaji, R.K.Puram, Palam and Faridabad.

Auxiliary power at 33 KV and traction power at 25 KV will be supplied from these new power sub-stations to the Metro stations of the Phase III corridor.

“The nine new substations will augment the other four already operational power sub-stations and their feeds can be extended to the Phase III corridors as well,” a Delhi Metro statement said.

At present, Delhi Metro’s power requirements are regulated through 15 sub-stations, which are spread across different parts of the city and National Capital Region (NCR).

According to Delhi Metro, for Phase III about 140-km of Metro lines will be built in the NCR , the approximate power requirement will be 150 MVA by 2016.

Delhi Metro operates over 2,700 trips a day, covering about 70,000 km and carrying around 1.8 million passengers on week days.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |