Maoists win 120 out of 240 directly elected seats in Nepal

April 22nd, 2008 - 12:24 pm ICT by admin  

Kathmandu, Apr 22 (ANI): The Communist Party of Nepal-Maoists has won 120 out of the total 240 directly elected seats under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) system of the Constituent Assembly polls.
The Maoists have fallen one short of commanding a clear majority after the completion of counting of votes under the FPTP.
According to, the Nepali Congress (NC) is a distant second with 37 seats followed by the Unified Marxist Leninist (UML) with 33 seats. While the Madhesi Janadhikar Forum (MJF) bagged 30 seats, the Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party (TMLP) won 9 seats.
Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhavana Party has won four seats. The Nepal Workers and Peasants Party (NWPP), Peoples Front and independent candidates have won two seats each. The Rastriya Janamorcha won one seat.
For 601-member Nepal Parliament, 335 are seats elected by proportional representation (PR) where counting is scheduled to be completed this week. Another 26 members of parliament will be nominated by the interim council of ministers. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |