Mamata Banerjee’s largesse for Maharashtra

February 25th, 2011 - 10:15 pm ICT by IANS  

Mamata Banerjee Mumbai, Feb 25 (IANS) Maharashtra and Mumbai have benefited substantially from Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee’s budget Friday that has proposed new services both in the suburban and long-distance sectors.On the Central Railway and Western Railway, nine new trains have been announced:

1. Tirupati-Amravati Express (bi-weekly) via Akola, Nizamabad, Gooty, Dharmavaram.

2. Nagpur-Kolhapur Express (bi-weekly) via Kurduwadi, Lathur Road, Purna, Akola.

3. Pune-Nanded Express (weekly) via Latur.

4. Ranchi-Pune Express (bi-weekly) via Bilaspur.

5. Chennai-Shirdi Express (weekly) via Bangalore.

6. Nagpur-Bhusawal Express (tri-weekly) via Itarsi-Khandwa.

7. Mumbai-Chandigarh Express(weekly) via Phulera-Ringus-Gurgaon-Kurukshetra.

8. Bhuj-Dadar Express(bi-weekly).

9. Udaipur-Bandra(T) Express (tri-weekly) via Ratlam.

Five new trains shall pass through various points on the Central Railway:

1. Ahmedabad-Yesvantpur AC Express (weekly) via Hubli, Bijapur.

2. Bhavnagar-Kochuvelli Express (weekly) via Panvel, Madgaon.

3. Porbander-Kochuveli Express (weekly) via Panvel, Madgaon.

4. Howrah-Nanded Express (weekly).

5. Hyderabad-Darbhanga Express (weekly) via Muri-Jharsuguda-Nagpur.

Two new daily trains under the Rajya-Rani EXPRESS, connecting state capitals with important towns have been announced:

1. Sawantwadi Road-Mumbai Express.

2. Manmad-Mumbai Express, via Nashik.

The state has got three new Duronto services:

1. Allahabad-Mumbai AC Duronto (bi-weekly).

2. Pune-Ahmedabad AC Duronto (tri-weekly).

3. Mumbai Central-New Delhi AC Duronto (bi-weekly).

The frequency of two existing Durontos has been increased to cater to the growing rush of passengers:

1. Mumbai CST-Howrah Duronto Express from 2 days to 4 days.

2. Nagpur-Mumbai CST Duronto Express from 3 days to daily.

A new Shatabdi Express has been announced between Pune and Secunderabad.

A new AC double-decker service will be introduced on the Ahmedabad-Mumbai sector.

A Janam Bhoomi Gaurav tourist special train will run on the Mumbai-Ahmedabad-Lothal-Bhavnagar-Alang-Gir-Diu-Junagad-Rajkot-Mumbai route.

The journeys of five existing train services have been extended on various sectors:

1. Solapur-Gadag Express to Hubli.

2. Jabalpur-Nagpur Express to Amravati.

3. Mumbai-Allahabad Express to Faizabad via Jaunpur, Shahganj.

4. Hyderabad-Wadi Passenger to Gulbarga.

5. Hubli-Bijapur Passenger to Solapur.

Similarly, the frequency of four trains has been increased in various directions:

1. Nagpur-Ahmedabad Express from weekly to bi-weekly.

2. Jaipur-Pune Express from weekly to bi-weekly.

3. Mumbai CST-Mangalore Express from 3 days to daily.

4. Surat-Amravati Fast Passenger from 2 days to 3 days.

On the critical Mumbai suburban sector, Banerjee has announced 47 additional services on the Thane-Vashi, Thane-Panvel, Borivali-Virar, Andheri-Virar, Bandra-Virar and Churchgate-Borivali sections.

Besides, she has proposed to increase 107 suburban services in the Mumbai area from the present 9 car EMUs to 12 car EMUs.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |