Karnataka completes electoral roll as per newly mapped Assembly constituencies

March 30th, 2008 - 1:15 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, Mar 30 (ANI): Karnataka’s Chief Electoral Officer Ramseshan has said that the State Election Commission (SEC) has completed electoral roll according to the newly delimited Assembly constituencies.
Ramseshan said that this daunting task for all the 224 Assembly constituencies was completed in record time in three stages, thus making Karnataka the first state in the country to have completed the voters’ list according to newly demarcated constituencies.
He said the number of voters has come down from 430 million to 400 million.
Rameshan further said that even now those, whose names are left out, can apply in form 6 and get their names included in the voters list.
While setting the stage for the announcement of the Assembly poll schedule, Ramseshan said the commission’s next agenda is issuing voters ID card.
He said there are 65,000 Electronic Voting machines (EVMs), which is more than the requirement of 50,000 EVMs, adding that a total of 39,758 polling stations would be set up across the state and over 200, 000 security personnel would be required to conduct the poll peacefully.
As per the mapping, Bangalore with 28 assembly constituencies is the largest segment and Kogadu District with just two constituencies is the smallest segment in the state.
The EC had decided to hold the state Assembly Elections in the third week of May this year.
Karnataka has been under the President’s Rule since December 28, last year. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |