Four chief ministers to discuss new mineral policy

March 28th, 2008 - 7:09 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, March 28 (IANS) The chief ministers of Orissa, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan are meeting here Saturday to discuss the National Mineral Policy 2008, which they say the central government has finalised without taking into consideration their states concerns. The Union cabinet recently gave its approval to the new mineral policy. During the budget session of parliament, parliament members from Orissa demanded a discussion in the Lok Sabha on the policy.

Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh Raman Singh said: “Yes, we are meeting tomorrow at Orissa Bhavan (in New Delhi) to discuss the new mineral policy. There are certain issues we want the central government to look into.”

Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan are ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party while Orissa is ruled by Navin Patnaik-headed Biju Janata Dal (BJ-D) - all members of the opposition national democratic Alliance (NDA).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Business |